One Year with the Mule

My Surly Long Haul Trucker in assembly

My Surly Long Haul Trucker on its first day.

It’s been just over a year since The Mule showed up in Daejeon, making my commute to work a lot more enjoyable. Several thousand kilometers later (I’m guessing between 3 and 4 somewhere), two multi-day bike trips, seven metric century + days, and many day trips out and back, this bike has served me well.

One year and a few days later.

My Surly LHT Today. A few modifications later.

Groceries, books, and anything else that I’ve strapped to the rack or shoved in the panniers have been carried nearly effortlessly by this wonderful bike. I shot through the first headset pretty quick, but the King that I put on it has served me without even a whimper, even when I had it too loose for a day and a half of cycling in Japan.

The precisely crafted Chris King Headset.

The precisely crafted Chris King Headset.

It’s been a good year, Mule. Thanks for the ride. I look forward to a long, healthy relationship.

Winter Panda

Winter Panda

Taking a Break

Taking a Break

With Dan and Tae on Jeju Island

With Dan and Tae on Jeju Island

A rest stop in Hokkaido, a trip with Dan 2008.

A rest stop in Hokkaido, a trip with Dan 2008.

One comment on “One Year with the Mule

  1. […] a year ago with commuting by bike, and have surprised myself at what has been accomplished. In a post last night I talked about the past year with my lovely Surly LHT. This summer I managed to push my bike on a […]

Leave a Reply

