Good Weekend

I went up to Seoul this weekend with Aryaena for a girls’ (+Dan) party at the Dragon Hill Spa at Yongsan (용산 in Korean, or 龍山, which means Dragon Mountain). We sat and chatted in the many dry sauna rooms of various temperatures before sending Dan off on his own and heading to the public bath area. We soaked in the various tubs of which the outdoor Japanese-style tub was our favourite. After chatting some more we headed back inside to scrub ourselves with rough mittens until our dead skin rolled off in little grey rolls. It’s really nasty to look at, but the result is completely worthwhile.

After we finished up at the spa, Dan, Tae, Aryaena and I headed back to the hotel Tae had reserved in Insadong (인사동) for us. We dropped our things, finished fixing ourselves for the evening and headed out to dinner at Carne Station back across town in Gangnam (강남).

The whole weekend was part of DeVika’s Birthoween event. She’s a socialite and loves planning these huge parties to bring as many of her friends together as possible. Dinner had about 20 people at it. Someone had purchased a cake from Costco, but there wasn’t any knife in the box for cutting it up and sharing it around.

The birthday cake

The birthday cake

DeVika went through great pains to try to get the staff to provide her with a knife to use to cut up the giant slab cake. After sending people to the kitchen four or five times, they provided her with the following:

_They expect me to use this?

"They expect me to use this?"

So, DeVika made her most valiant effort before the staff finally came over and offered to take it out back and cut it up for her.

Cutting the Cake

Cutting the Cake

Here are some other shots from the evening:

One of the tables of friends

One of the tables of friends

Tae and Dan.

Tae and Dan.

Aryaena and I

Aryaena and I

Sujeong and I

Sujeong and I

Sujeong and I again

Sujeong and I again

Getting it together.

Getting it together.

3 comments on “Good Weekend

  1. KRD says:

    You guys really looks happy on that photos, and must be got a great birthday party. When see the word(Dragon Hill Spa)at first, feels this blog friendly because something like a have in common both us. I also go occasionally and enjoy sauna at Dragon Hill Spa. Hope you have more pleasant experience and having fun with your friends.

  2. kimberlyhogg says:

    Thanks, KRD. My friends and I love going to the jjimjilbangs and saunas together, and this party was no exception!

  3. The Birthday Girl says:

    This is great!! I am Blog FAMOUS!! Yippie…a bit slow on the up keep though…figures I’d only find this months after the party was over. The photos are great…maybe you could email them to me…Anyways…Thanks for being there always more fun when you’re there..only could you not pick other people’s noses at the table?? Not that it’s bad…just now I have that image stuck in my head hahah.

Leave a Reply

